Part 4 project 3 Exercise 2 Essential elements

Aim

Draw a sequence of 6 different poses lasting 10 mins each.

 

In this exercise I immediately thought oh no 10 mins the drawings are going to look awful, but I was some what pleasantly surprised for what I could achieve in less that 10 minutes.

I used my husband for this life drawing.

I stuck with A4 paper for these using soft paper and one drawing on a thicker paper.

Drawing 1 

For the drawing above he sat leaning up against the sofa used charcoal pencil and blended slightly with a cotton bud.

 

Drawing 2

Here I used a scribble technique with biro pen, He was lounging on the sofa with his right foot propped up on a pillow, There is a lot wrong with this drawing some being the leg looks as if it floating in the air and the foot. etc,

 

Drawing 3

Still on the sofa facing the back in the drawing I found very difficult as parts of the sofa over lapped the curves of the body, I did think about drawing the sofa but then that would take the time away from the details of the figure.

I used charcoal pencil 2 for this and blended slightly with a cotton bud.

Drawing 4

I enjoyed the view of the pose above but once I started drawing soon discovered that the twists of the body were going to be tricky, What you should see is the right leg positioned on the stool is twisted at the bottom with the foot turned out wards, the torso was slightly leaning forwards and then the head turned to the right, the left hand as you view the drawing is bent forwards and the right hand also twisted.

 

Drawing 5

I have no words for this drawing above………….

 

Drawing 6

Above I used thicker paper with graphite and charcoal pencil, The pose again on the sofa arm leaning on the arm of the chair with pillows under and around him.

 

Reflexion

On a hole this exercise was completed with varied success, I am most pleased with Drawing 3 I like the position and the curved lines of the back.

I feel there was a lot to try to capture in such a short time scale and choosing what to block in was particularly difficult for me.

I like the result of Drawing 1 2 and 3 they are a loose quick study, I think the poses are believable but the model was slightly heavier figure which was kind of deliberate in this instance as I was drawing my husband and wanted him to accept my work.

My least liked drawing is number 5  I used charcoal and conte for this.

The pose was him lying back with a complete twist to his hips left leg to look at was bent at the knee and crossed over the ankle of the right leg, I can’t even begin to explain how I  went wrong but this is defiantly not a believable pose to me it does not even depict a human body, I think the biggest mistake was the torso which was too elevated.

The only other problem with this exercise was getting the heaviness of the models body, It was hard to maintain the correct proportions of the body due to the time scale provided

 

 

 


Leave a comment